Australian Links


Australian Links

Australian Virtual Observatories

The Australian Virtual Observatory collaboration website, where all participants in the project together with the wider community can contribute ideas, opinions and discussions to Aus-VO.

  • Australian Virtual Observatory e-mail listArchives of transactions on the Australian Virtual Observatory e-mail list are available for viewing without being subscribed to the list. To subscribe, send an email to here with an empty subject and the single word subscribe in the body of the message.

Australian Observatories

  • Australian Telescope National Facility - ATNFThe Australia Telescope National Facility (ATNF) is administered by the CSIRO and is funded by the Australian Government. Its main objective is to support Australia's research in radio astronomy. The ATNF operates the Australia Telescope which consists of the Compact Array at Narrabri and the Parkes and Mopra radio telescopes. These telescopes can be used together as a long baseline array for use in Very Long Baseline Interferometry.
  • Anglo Australian Observatory - AAOThe Anglo Australian Observatory (AAO) is funded by the Australian and British Government to provide provide world-class observing facilities for British and Australian optical astronomers. The AAO operates the Anglo-Australian and UK Schmidt telescopes on behalf of the astronomical communities of Australia and the UK.
  • The Gemini ObservatoryThe Gemini Observatory is a partnership of seven countries (Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, the USA and the UK) to build and operate a pair of 8.1 meter astronomical telescopes to work at optical and infrared wavelengths. Gemini North is located atop Mauna Kea in Hawaii and Gemini South is on Cerro Pachón in central Chile. Gemini North began doing science in 2000. Gemini South made its first science observations in the latter part of 2001.
  • Low Frequency Array - LOFARLow Frequency Array (LOFAR) will be a new multi-element, interferometric, imaging telescope for the 10 - 240 MHz frequency range. LOFAR is scientifically versatile and its images will provide insights into diverse areas in astronomy such as reionization of the early universe, detection of extra-solar planets to the mapping of galactic cosmic rays. It is proposed to be operational as soon as 2008.
  • Mount Stromlo and Siding Springs Observatory - MSSSO
  • Square Kilometre Array - SKAThe Square Kilometre Array (SKA) is part of an international effort to build a radio telescope with a collecting area of one square kilometre for the 0.14 - 20 GHz frequency range. SKA will be an unique telescope with a collection area 30 times greater than any telescope ever built, thus providing 100 times more sensitivity than any present day radio telescope. Furthermore, it will be the first aperture synthesis telescope with up to 100 independent field of views.

Australian Grid and Computing

  • Australian Grid Forum - Oz GridThe Australian Grid Forum has recently been initiated to promote open communication about Australian grid activities, to foster collaborations between national and international grid organizations and to serve as a repository of the progress of Australian grid endeavors. It is open to all Australian researchers in grid computing.
  • Grid and Next Generation Network - GrangeNetIn March 2002, GrangeNet embarked on a 3-year program to install, operate and develop a multi-gigabit network to support grid and advanced communications services. The proposed GrangeNet network links Melbourne, Canberra, Sydney and Brisbane. GrangeNet will support a number of user communities that have focused interests such as in computational physics, bio-informatics, astronomy, computational engineering, on-line health, environmental modeling, distance education and media services.
  • Australian Partnership for Advance ComputingIn September 1998, the Federal Government announced its intention to form APAC with a grant of $19.5m over four years. APAC is a national partnership that will lead the development of an Australia-wide computing and communications systems infrastructure. Specific roles for APAC is to provide users particularly in the higher education sector with peak computing systems and to strengthen the expertise and skills necessary for the effective use and development of these facilities.
  • Victorian Partnership for Advanced ComputingVPAC was established in 2000 by a consortium of six Victorian Universities; LaTrobe University, Monash University, RMIT University, Swinburne University of Technology, The University of Ballarat and The University of Melbourne. VPAC's main focus is on the development of partnerships, projects and programs in areas such as computational engineering, biotechnology, cluster computing and geoscience that have tangible outcomes by exploiting advanced computing within Victoria and Australia.